Webdiary - Independent, Ethical, Accountable and Transparent
header_02 home about login header_06
sidebar-top content-top

Webdiary Contributors

Our Founder Margo Kingston

Any articles by people not listed below are grouped under two general headings:
Guest Contributors and Project Syndicate. Please let us know if there are posts missing from anyone's archive or if there are registered users' posts which are still not archived under their name.

Hamish Alcorn

Yasir Assam

Andrew Bartlett

Kaye Bernard

Betty Birskys

Robert Bosler

Arie Brand

Alison Broinowski

Kerri Browne

Polly Bush

John Henry Calvinist

Ross Chippendale

Mike Clancy

Greg Clarke


Robyn Clothier

David Curry

Russell Darroch

Ralf Dahrendorf

David Davis

J Bradford DeLong

Democratic Audit

Malcolm B Duncan

Scott Dunmore

Peter Ellis

Roger Fedyk

Martin Gifford

Andrew Glikson

Evan Hadkins

Dr Mark Hayes

John Hepburn

Peter Hindrup

Kerryn Higgs

Sue Hoffman

Will Howard

Jenny Hume

Joseph Imrich

Jomo KS

PF Journey

Melody Kemp

Tony Kevin

Dylan Kissane

Bryan Law

Carmen Lawrence

Gus Leonisky

Stuart Lord

Ian MacDougall

Ian McPherson

Trevor Maddock

Kevin Maguire

David Markham

Darryl Mason

George Matafonov

John Miate

Branko Milanovic

Colin Miller

Dale Mills

John Miner

Anthony Nolan

Joseph S Nye

Justin Obodie

Michael Park

Brad Pedersen

Tony Phillips

John Pratt

Eliot Ramsey

Raja Ratnam

Ian Read

Fiona Reynolds

John Richardson

Jack Robertson

David Roffey

Kenneth Rogoff

Troy Rollo

Roslyn Ross

Craig Rowley

Susie Russell

Jeffrey Sachs

Sol Salbe

Chris Saliba

Wayne Sanderson

Mark Sergeant

Mary Shepherd

Peter Singer

James Sinnamon

Jack H Smit

Stephen Smith

Basil J Smith

Jay Somasundaram

Martin Spalding

Joseph Stiglitz

David Tank

Alan Thornhill

Richard Tonkin

Justin Tutty

Phil Uebergang

Solomon Wakeling

Bob Wall

Paul Walter

Craig Warton

Peter Woodforde

Irfan Yusuf

Haifa Zangana

[ category: ]

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

New NSW riot police targets dissent

New riot squad in NSW targets dissent

The attack on civil liberties in Australia continues with a new riot squad being established in NSW as part of the Counter Terrorist Co-ordination Command. The difference between dissent and terrorism is becoming increasingly thin.

The Counter-Terrorism Command Centre was established in 2002. According to the official NSW Police website, its mission is ‘to provide a comprehensive and co-ordinated response to acts of terrorism or politically motivated violence…’ Politically motivated violence is the code used for protests.

The Police Public Order and Riot Squad was established on January 1, 2006, according to the January 16 Australian. Deputy Police Commissioner Terry Collins said that the new riot squad would be backed-up by 1200 riot-trained officers.

Although the police like to play up the role of the Macquarie Fields and Redfern riots in the formation of the new riot squad, in reality the announcement that such a squad was being set-up was in response to the anti-globalisation protests against the Forbes business leaders' conference at the Sydney Opera House on August 30.

The day after the protest, NSW Police Minister Carl Scully praised the police response to the Forbes conference protesters, where many protesers were injured, and he endorsed the formation of a full-time state riot squad. One day later, September 1, Police Commissioner Ken Moroney announced the formation of the Public Order and Riot Squad. Obviously, the plans had been set for some time, but Moroney waited till the Forbes’ protest before making the plan public.

The squad is planned to have a core of about 50 riot squad police, backed-up by another 1,200 riot police. The squad will be fully operational for the 2007 APEC Leaders Summit in Sydney in 2007.

The riot squad is led by the Kings Cross police commander, Superintendent Steve Cullen, who was the same officer who directed police security for the Augsut 30 Forbes’ conference.

One danger of the formation of the new riot squad is its possible use of the newly introduced ‘lock-down’ powers, introduced in an emergency sitting of Parliament following the Cronulla riots. These powers would allow police to ban people from entering an area where the riot squad is being used, and this includes journalists. Out of the gaze of the media, serious human rights abuses could occur when the riot squad has been let loose.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
© 2005-2011, Webdiary Pty Ltd
Disclaimer: This site is home to many debates, and the views expressed on this site are not necessarily those of the site editors.
Contributors submit comments on their own responsibility: if you believe that a comment is incorrect or offensive in any way,
please submit a comment to that effect and we will make corrections or deletions as necessary.
Margo Kingston Photo © Elaine Campaner

Recent Comments

David Roffey: {whimper} in Not with a bang ... 12 weeks 5 days ago
Jenny Hume: So long mate in Not with a bang ... 12 weeks 6 days ago
Fiona Reynolds: Reds (under beds?) in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 1 day ago
Justin Obodie: Why not, with a bang? in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 1 day ago
Fiona Reynolds: Dear Albatross in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 1 day ago
Michael Talbot-Wilson: Good luck in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 1 day ago
Fiona Reynolds: Goodnight and good luck in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 2 days ago
Margo Kingston: bye, babe in Not with a bang ... 13 weeks 6 days ago